



President

Patrick A. Costello President-Elect Collin Corcoran Secretary Russ Prechtl Treasurer David C. Greishaber Delegate Paul Ronczkowski Members at Large Audra K. Sargeant James D. McNiff Stig T. Ruxlow

Student Affairs Chairperson Paul Ronczkowski

May Chapter Meeting

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 5:00 pm – 7:55 pm

Location: Obed & Isaac's Microbrewery and Eatery 321 NE Madison Ave, Peoria, IL 61603 https://www.connshg.com/obed-and-isaacs/peoria/

Program:

Date:

5:00 – 5:10: Member Gather and Welcoming of Guests

ASSP Central Illinois Chapter and AIHA

Prairie Section Joint Society Social Event

5:15-6:00: Microbrewery Tour (cash bar for alcoholic refreshments)

6:00-7:55: Dinner and Joint Society Social Event Celebration

Please joint us for our end of year joint society celebration with the AIHA Prairie Section at Obed & Isaac's Microbrewery and Eatery in Peoria, IL.

Visit <u>https://cil.assp.org/</u> for details and registration.

Upcoming Chapter Meetings

To Be Announced....

Watch your newsletters and the website!

ASSP Central Illinois Chapter http://cil.assp.org/ April 2019 Newsletter

Society News



Eric Hallerud, Region V Vice President, spoke at the April 2019 meeting. He presented and discussed the many different benefits and opportunities of being an ASSP member.

Slate of Officers for 2019-2020

President Patrick A. Costello, PE, CSP **President-Elect** Colin Corcoran, CSP Secretary Russ Prechtl, CSP, EMT-P Treasurer David C. Greishaber, Ph.D. **Past-President** Audra K. Sargeant, CSP, OHST **Members at Large** Audra K. Sargeant, CSP, OHST James D. McNiff, CSP, ARM Stig T. Ruxlow, CSP, CXLT, ALCM **Student Affairs & Membership Chairperson** Paul Ronczkowski, CSP **Chapter Delegate**

Paul Ronczkowski, CSP

ASSP Central Illinois Chapter http://cil.assp.org/ April 2019 Newsletter

Upcoming Chapter Events

TBD Watch your email for upcoming electronic chapter elections!

Mark your calendars for these dates!

Important CIL Announcements

Safety 2020: Call for Presenters Apr 01, 2019

In today's business landscape, OSH professionals must find ways to demonstrate their value to employers. Delivering a presentation at Safety 2020 provides an opportunity to do that.

Through July 17, 2019, we are accepting proposals from those interested in presenting at our 2020 Professional Development Conference. Presenting a session at the OSH profession's premier event can help you build credibility and visibility. By speaking at the conference, you can reach the OSH industry's thought leaders to discuss key and emerging issues in the practice of safety. Expand your profession's knowledge and influence future practitioners to prepare them for the challenges ahead.

The conference is slated to run June 22-25, 2020, in Orlando, FL. Presentations should address key issues and challenges facing OSH professionals; expand their knowledge and professional skills; or identify emerging issues relevant to the profession. Read the guidelines and learn how to submit a proposal here<<u>https://www.assp.org/education/conferences/annualprofessional-development-conference-and-exposition/call-forpresenters></u>.

Important CIL Announcements

ASSP Election Results Highlighted by Stegall's Move to President Apr 18, 2019

PARK RIDGE, Illinois — The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), the world's oldest professional safety organization, has announced its new leaders from the 2019 Society elections<<u>https://www.assp.org/membership/elections</u>>. All terms begin July 1. Diana Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ARM, SMS, CPCU, will serve as ASSP president for 2019-20.

"Elections are the heart of a professional society, and it's great to see our members staying involved," said ASSP President Rixio Medina, CSP, CPP, whose term expires June 30. "Highly engaged safety professionals define our Society, keeping it vibrant and creating opportunities to advance occupational safety and health."

ASSP's top elected positions – all part of its Board of Directors – are president, president-elect, senior vice president, vice president of finance and director-at-large. Each is a one-year term, except for the two-year term of the vice president of finance and the three-year term of the director-at-large. The succession of leaders from senior vice president to president-elect, and from president-elect to president, is automatic.

Following are snapshots of ASSP's newly elected leaders, whose influence and contributions will help shape the policies and programs that sustain the organization as a global leader for workplace safety and health.

President Diana Stegall, CSP, CFPS, ARM, SMS, CPCU, is senior loss control consultant for United Heartland in Minnesota. A member since 1990, she was the first woman named ASSP's Safety Professional of the Year in 2005. Stegall is a two-time recipient of the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award. She has been a member of ASSP's Government Affairs Committee and chair of the Professional Development Conference Planning Committee. Stegall holds a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Wake Forest University.